Local Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

Dawes County Election Filings After Incumbent Filing Deadline

CHADRON – There will be 2 new Crawford City Council members, one new Dawes County Commissioner, and at least one new member of both the Chadron School Board and Chadron City Council after the passing of the filing deadline for incumbents in Nebraska on Tuesday.

Both Crawford Council members up for reelection, Larry Olson and Brian Frahm, declined to run as did Dawes County Commissioner Webb Johnson of rural Crawford, Chadron Councilman George Klein and school board member Gary Hoffman had announced earlier they weren’t seeking reelection.

Incumbent Chadron councilman Keith Crofutt filed on the first day possible and he’s been followed on the ballot by Joe Johndreau, who ran for the school board 2 years ago, and AJ Bassett, an unsuccessful council contender 2 years ago.

Chadron School Board incumbents Boone Huffman and Maddie Nisch bot filed and have yet to be joined by anyone else while Crawford School Board incumbent Donald Edelman has newcomer Alicia Hunter-Robertson on the ballot as well.

Dawes County Public Defender Becca Chasek, appointed in 2018, is currently unopposed, as are County Commissioner District 3 hopeful Tony Johnson and incumbent Upper Niobrara White NRD Subdistrict 5 member Al Rasmussen.

No one has filed yet for the Crawford City Council. Non-incumbents have another week and a half to make a decision with the filing deadline for them coming up on Monday March 2nd.