Local Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

Dawes County Election Filings

CHADRON – The filing deadline for the May 12 Nebraska Primary has passed and there will not be contested primaries for the Chadron City Council or School Board.

There are 3 candidates for 2 openings on the city council – Joseph Johndreau, AJ Bassett, and incumbent Keith Crofutt – so there will be a contested general election, but there are just 3 candidates for the 3 school board openings – Melissa Webster and incumbents Boone Huffman and Maddie Nisch.

The Crawford City Council South Ward has just one filing, Susan Leeling, but there will be a primary in the North Ward between Troy DeGunia, Zac Riggs, and former Mayor Dave Nixon.

The Crawford School Board is the most popular race in Dawes County with 6 candidates – Donald Edelman, Alicia Hunter-Robertson, Christine Swanson, Jim Lambert, JoElla Norman, and Carl Burrous.

At the county level, there will be a primary in the Republican party for County Commissioner, where Webb Johnson chose not to run for reelection, between Tony Johnson and former Chadron businessman and former city councilman Levi Grant. The winner will face Democrat Marisa Betson.

Dawes County Public Defender Becca Chasek, appointed to fill the position in 2018, is unopposed in her run for a full 4-year term.