It’s City Election Day In Edgemont; Hot Springs Election Not Until June

      Today is election day for a number of South Dakota cities including Edgemont, where there are 2 contested races.

     Mayor Carla Schepler is challenged by Arnold Harper while former mayor Carl Shaw is trying to unseat incumbent Ward 2 City Council member Bob Worden 

      Four other Edgemont city council races have single candidates – incumbent Roger Horton in Ward 4 and council newcomers Cindy Milburn and Bill Bethel in Ward 1 and Lori Weiser in Ward 3

      While Edgemont voters are going to the polls today, Hot Springs voters won’t cast ballots for city or school board positions until June 8th, when they will be presented with 2 contested races – one for city council and one for school board.

       The contested Hot Springs council seat is in Ward 1 with incumbent Alderman Craig Romey facing challenger Jeff Shannon. Dave Burris in Ward 2, Linda Varvel in Ward 3, and Debra Johnston in Ward 4 will all be unopposed.

      The lone contested Hot Springs school board race is for the seat currently held by Frances Stokes, who chose not to run for re-election. Vying for the 2-year term are Dean Burgess and Katie Burchfield.

     A trio of 3-year school board positions have unopposed candidates. Nikki Shaw and Ryan Walz are both incumbents while Colby Williams will be joining the board.