It’s Primary Election Day In SD

HOT SPRINGS – Today is primary election day in South Dakota where concerns over the coronavirus have led to more than 82,000 absentee ballots already being returned. That’s more than half of the voter turnout in the 2018 primary.

For those still heading to the polls to vote in person, poll workers will attempt to space them apart while providing hand sanitizer.

Incumbent U-S Senator Mike Rounds and Congressman.Dusty Johnson each face little-known opponents in the Republican primary as they each seek a second term. Rounds is challenged by Scyller Borglum while Johnson faces Liz Marty May.

Fall River County Republican voters have a lot of choices in 3 races. The open State Senate District 30 seat offers State Representative Julie Frye-Mueller or Hot Springs Mayor George Kotti while the state house race with 2 November spots has incumbent Tim Goodwin and newcomers Kwinn Neff, Trish Ladner, and Florence Thompson.

Three Fall River County Commission seats have drawn 9 GOP candidates with the 3 incumbents, Paul Nabholz, Joe Allen, and Heath Greenough facing 6 challengers to advance to November – Ben Tubbs, Troy Goettsch, Les Cope, Suzanne Davidson, Trudy Dibble, and Lyle Rudloff.

Fall River County Democrats have a quiet ballot with the already decided presidential race between Bernie Sanders and Joe Biden their only partisan race.

In 2 non-partisan races, incumbent Hot Springs City Council member Daitlin Turner is challenged by Debras Johnson for a 2-year term with only Ward 4 residents able to vote while Melisa Niles and incumbent Petra Wilson are vying for a 3-year spot on the Hot Springs School Board

Related posts