Ricketts Names New State College Student Trustees

Ruth Mencia (Photo by Daniel Binkard/Chadron State College)

      Governor Pete Ricketts has appointed the next 3 student members of the Nebraska State College System Board of Trustees. 

     Ruth Mencia of Chadron State, Panashe Jacha of Peru State, and Jackson Richling of Wayne State are all juniors and will each serve a one-year term starting in June. Mencia and Richling are both from Grand Island, Jacha from Elkhorn.

     Current student trustees Konery Klueber of Chadron State, Tyler Harms of Peru, and Amanda Jaixen of Wayne will work with the new student trustees to orient them until their terms begin.

       Board Chair Gary Bieganski of Chadron says the Trustees value the insight and student perspective the young leaders bring to the Board.

      Mencia is a double major in social work and general business and administration with a minor in human biology, having come to CSC under both RHOP – Rural Health Opportunities Program – and PHEAST – Public Health Early Admissions Student Track.

      Those are cooperative programs with the University of Nebraska Medical Center that guarantee incoming CSC freshmen spots in specialties at UNMC as long as they meet the entry requirements at the appropriate time.

      Mencia is the current chair of CAB, the Campus Activity Board, and serves on the Student Senate Executive Board and Activities Fee Board. She’s also treasurer of the Sports Medicine Club and Social Work Club. 

       In her student trustee application, Mencia called student leaders such as herself as “merely catalysts to unlock the doors of campus improvement.”