Cross Country Teams Open Season In Rapid City

CSC Sports Information

Five Chadron State College women’s cross country runners and 10 men opened the 2021 season on Saturday morning at the Hardrocker Cross Country Classic at Robbinsdale Park in Rapid City. Both teams finished fourth out of four teams in a five-kilometer women’s race and an eight kilometer men’s course.

“Today was a step in the right direction,” said CSC Head Cross Country Coach Luke Karamitros. “Garrett Avery ran the second-fastest time by a CSC athlete at the Robbinsdale course since they started racing there in 2017. Alissa Wieman ran the second fastest time on the women’s side. The competition was fierce, but it’s a good indicator of what’s to come in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. All in all, it’s the best opener I’ve been part of, in my two years here at CSC. There is much, much more we can accomplish, considering we just scratched the surface today.”

On the women’s side, newcomer Wieman crossed the finish line first among her squad in 20:34.65 to place 12th in a field of 33. The freshman from Box Elder, South Dakota bested all of her finishes as a high school senior, running her best time since finishing 19th at the 2019 Class AA state championships, where she finished the five-kilometer course in 19:53.1.

Veteran Sydney Settles of Lincoln, a fourth-year letterman, placed 16th in 21:06.05.

For the CSC men, the first across the line was sophomore Avery, of Sheridan, Wyoming. His 14th-place finish in 27:21.78 was his best time since October 12, 2019, and nearly identically matched his team-best finish at the 2019 RMAC Championships.

Sophomore Noah Burtis, of Berthoud, Colorado, was the next of the Eagles men to place, when he was the 19th runner of 40 in 27:41.21.

Women’s cross country runner Audrey Grinnan of Burlington, Colorado had a career personal best by nearly 10 seconds, running 22:40.46.

Cale Schafer and Joaquin Venzor, both graduates of University High in Greeley, Colorado, each had personal bests at eight kilometers for the men.

The women’s competition was won by Carleton College of Minnesota, and the men’s team from Black Hills State University was first in the standings.

The individual winners were Ruby Lindquist and Keith Osowski of BHSU.

CSC hosts the Chadron High School Meet next weekend, when the teams will not compete. The Eagles’ next competition is September 18 at the Gage McSpadden Memorial in Spearfish, South Dakota, hosted by BHSU.

Team Results:


1, Carleton, 31 pts; 2, Black Hills State, 38 pts; 3, South Dakota Mines, 68 pts; 4, Chadron State, 100 pts.


1, Black Hills State, 37 pts; 2, Carleton, 40 pts; 3, South Dakota Mines, 46 pts; 4, Chadron State, 108 pts.

CSC Individual Results:


12, Alissa Wieman, 20:34.65; 16, Sydney Settles, 21:06.05; 27, Audrey Grinnan, 22:40.46; 29, Morgan Jaggers, 23:56.46; 30, Kassyl Swinney, 24:46.08.


14, Garrett Avery, 27:21.78; 19, Noah Burtis, 27:41.21; 25, Cale Schafer, 28:00.55; 27, Logan Moravec, 28:02.62; 29, Blaine Johnson, 28:11.62; 30, Logan Andrews, 28:27.78; 32, Joaquin Venzor, 28:42.52; 37, Rhett McMasters, 29:32.99; 38, Kyson Miller, 30:11.81; 40, Jayson Caudell, 33:14.68.

Leave a Comment