CSC Men’s Wrestling Moves To 4-0 In RMAC

Carter Hattery/CSC Sports Information

The Chadron State College men’s wrestling team downed the Colorado State University-Pueblo ThunderWolves on Saturday afternoon, in Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference action, winning 24-16 at home in the Chicoine Center in Chadron.

The match began with bonus point wins by freshman Darwin Hull and sophomore Rowdy Pfeil, at 174 and 184 pounds respectively. Additionally, CSC’s No. 10 Mason Watt outclassed No. 15 Gavin Nye 6-3. The other big win was by sophomore Kobe Lepe at 133.

“We won some big matches today,” said CSC Head Men’s Wrestling Coach Brett Hunter. “The guys continue to impress me every time out.”

Hull’s pin in less than half the first period started the afternoon at 6-0 for the Eagles. Pfeil added five more points by turning his opponent three times in the first period before a single takedown in the second gave him a 16-1 advantage.

Lepe put up a takedown, gave up a reversal, and then reversed his opponent again and briefly pinned his opponent’s shoulders, all in the first period, for a win by fall near the three-minute mark.

Pueblo got its first three points in 3-2 win by Ben Gould over CSC’s Eli Hinojosa. Three of its four wins came at 149, 157, and 165 pounds, after the match was decided mathematically.

The visitors scored one bonus point at 149, where CSC was shorthanded, and another at 157. The ThunderWolves’ two regular decisions were by a single point.

CSC improved its record to the top conference mark at 4-0, with a 5-2 overall mark. The ThunderWolves fell to 2-5 overall, and 1-3 in RMAC action.

The Eagles have their toughest RMAC dual competition in front of them. The Colorado School of Mines Orediggers visit Chadron Sunday afternoon, February 6, at 1 p.m. Then they have rescheduled duals on the Colorado Western Slope at Colorado Mesa University on February 10 and Western Colorado University on February 11.

125 – Quade Smith (CSC) dec. Parker McBride (5-3)
133 – Kobe Lepe (CSC) pinned Devin Lueck (2:51)
141 – Ethan Leake (CSC) dec. Cyruss Meeks (7-2)
149 – Gavin Melendez (CSUP) MD Chance Bockenstedt (14-5)
157 – Justin Davis (CSUP) MD Dean Neff (19-7)
165 – Ruben Garcia (CSUP) dec. Javen Palmer (5-4)
174 – Darwin Hull (CSC) pinned Remington Winmill (1:28)
184 – Rowdy Pfeil (CSC) TF Dominic Robles (16-1, 3:32)
197 – Ben Gould (CSUP) dec. Eli Hinojosa (3-2)
285 – No. 10 Mason Watt (CSC) dec. No. 15 Gavin Nye (6-3)

Leave a Comment