Four CSC Football Players Selected To All-RMAC Teams


Four Chadron State College football players were selected to the 2021 All-Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference teams in a postseason release on Thursday at

The teams were selected by the RMAC football head coaches in a vote. No coach is allowed to vote for his own players.

Featured on the All-RMAC First Team are senior offensive lineman Justin Calderon, junior offensive lineman Juan Estrada-Sanchez, and senior cornerback Bobby Peele.

Calderon and Estrada-Sanchez were the starting left and right tackles, respectively, for the RMAC’s third best passing offense and fourth scoring offense. CSC was No. 2 in third down conversion rate and gained the fourth-most yardage per game.

Peele had six interceptions this fall, which were the most by a CSC player since Trelan Taylor’s eight in 2012. He added a team-high five pass breakups. In addition, he recorded 44 tackles, including two behind the line of scrimmage.

Making the All-RMAC Second Team was Chad Mikelson, a senior wide receiver. His 54 catches for 540 yards were both team-highs, as were his seven receiving touchdowns, which tied him with teammate Cole Thurness. He also returned one punt for a score.

All-conference honorable mention recipients for the Eagles included senior wide receiver Thurness, senior quarterback Dalton Holst, senior linebackers Travis Wilson and Noah Kerchal, senior defensive lineman Brendan Hopkins, senior offensive lineman Austin Rapp, sophomore offensive lineman Michael DeCamillis, and sophomore defensive lineman Gabe Perkins.

Top honors went to New Mexico Highlands’ CJ Sims for Offensive Player of the Year, Western Colorado’s Will Lydle for Defensive Player of the Year, and CSU-Pueblo’s Justin Dwinell for Special Teams Player of the Year.Colorado Mesa’s Karst Hunter and Western Colorado’s Anthony Johnston were the Offensive and Defensive Freshmen of the Year, respectively. Western Colorado’s Jas Bains was picked as the Coach of the Year.

Leave a Comment