Hawks, Lions Advance In Holiday Tournament

Hay Springs nipped by Crawford and Morrill won big over Sioux County Monday to advance to the final round of play at the Harrison Holiday Tournament.

The outsized, outmanned five-man squad of Sioux County couldn’t keep pace with the Morrill Lions, who blocked the Warriors shots at nearly every turn. The Lions rolled to a 50-15 victory, shutting out the Warriors 21-0 in the opening period before taking a 34-5 lead into half-time. A 16-10 run in the second half kept the Lions firmly in charge. Morrill sank eight treys in the contest and were led by Andon Pittman with 13, Daniel Hernandez with 12 and Gavin Dunkel with 10. Tucker Monroe led the Warriors with eight points, including two treys, and Shane Gluth added the remaining seven.

Hay Springs edged out the Crawford Rams in a two-point thriller, 47-45. The Hawks held a slim 12-11 margin after one quarter of action and managed to keep ahead of the Rams by three to four points during the first half, taking a 27-24 lead into the locker room. Crawford returned in the third to outpace the Hawks 14-8 for its own three-point edge, 38-35, as the final quarter began.

The score knotted up at 40 early in the fourth before the Hawks inched ahead 43-42. The teams tied again at 45 with three minutes remaining, and Hay Springs stepped up its defense to keep Crawford from scoring again on their way to victory.

Hay Springs and Morrill are scheduled to face each other Tuesday, while Sioux County and Crawford will face off for the second time this season to wrap up the tournament.

Sioux County     0            5            4            6            -15

Morrill                21          13          11          5            -50

Warrior scoring: Tucker Monroe, 8; Shane Gluth, 7

Lion scoring: Kaid Ybarra, 8; Luke Ott, 3; Andon Pittman, 13; Christian Bokelman, 2; Daniel Hernandez, 12; Gavin Dunkel, 10

Hay Springs        12          15          8            11          -47

Crawford            11          13          14          4            -45

Hawk scoring: D. Young, 9; G. Varvel, 2; C. Frazer, 9; G. Mintken, 11; T. Scherbarth, 6; L. DeCoste, 10

Ram scoring: Ty Brady, 4; Mitch Knode, 2; Hayes Frahm, 14; Levi VanBeek, 8; Roman Metz, 13; Carter Rudloff, 4

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related posts