Nebraska State Tourney, South Dakota Regionals Full Steam Ahead


The Nebraska state volleyball tournament started its four day run at Pinnacle Bank Arena on Wednesday with classes A, B, and C1.

There were relatively little surprises in any of the first day quarterfinal matches as Elkhorn South, Papillon-LaVista, Lincoln Pius, and Papillion-LaVista South were class A winners.

Five time defending champion Omaha Skutt along with Norris, Elkhorn, and Ashland-Greenwood were class B winners.

St. Paul, Lincoln Lutheran, Wahoo, and Columbus Lakeview all advanced to the semifinals in class C1.

Three new classes join the mix today as C2, D1, and D2 taking center stage.

The only Panhandle team in Lincoln, South Platte, will square off with Mead around 2:30 this afternoon in Class D-1. Mullen is in the D2 bracket and will face Maywood-Hayes Center, the team that beat Sioux County in the district finals, at 10:30 am this morning.

In South Dakota the combined region 7/8 Class A volleyball tournament begins at the site of the higher seeds. Regions 7 and 8 consolidated after six teams in region seven withdrew or did not compete this season.

Top seeded Hill City hosts Lead-Deadwood. St. Thomas More, the fourth seed, welcomes fifth seeded Custer, and #2 Rapid City Christian plays Hot Springs. Winner is the 3rd seed and meets Belle Fourche.

The winner of each contest will advance to the SoDak 16 with those winners advancing to the state tournament.