Warriors, Lions Earn Title Game Spots


The Klein and Krein sisters play defense for SIoux County against Edgemont Thursday in Panhandle Conference action. Photo by Kerri Rempp

The Sioux County girls and the Morrill boys advanced through semi-finals action at the Panhandle Conference Tournament Thursday night and will play for championship titles Friday.

After a tight first half, the Sioux County Warriors pulled away in the third and cruised to a 56-33 win over the Edgemont Moguls. The teams traded the lead back-and-forth through the first quarter, with Sioux County inching ahead 13-11. The Warriors used a 9-7 run in the second to pad their lead at half-time, for a four-point, 22-18 advantage.

Sioux County came out of the break ready for action, however, netting 16 points, including seven by Rachel Krein. Edgemont scored half that, allowing Sioux County to widen their lead to 38-26. The Warriors doubled up the Moguls’ scoring efforts in the fourth quarter again, using an 18-7 run to cap the win. Kailey Klein added 11 points to the board for the Warriors in the final eight minutes, including a nine-of-14 showing at the free throw line, as the Moguls began fouling the Warriors on nearly every possession with three minutes remaining. Klein scored 24 for Sioux County overall, with three treys. Krein added 13. Morgan Peterson led the Moguls with 14, followed by Peyton Ostenson with 11.

Sioux County will take on Hemingford for the second time this season in the title game Friday at 5 p.m. at Chadron State College. Hemingford (9-7) defeated the Warriors (8-6) Jan. 15 45-36. Edgemont will face Crawford in the fifth-place game at 10 a.m.

Morrill survived a late challenge by the Hay Springs Hawks to get a narrow 38-34 victory after leading 19-10 at half-time. Hay Springs outscored Morrill 9-8 in the third quarter to begin their comeback run. The Hawks dumped in 15 points in the final period and held Morrill to 11, but time ran out before they could go ahead. No stats are available for this game yet. Morrill will play Hemingford for the championship at 6:45 p.m. Friday, while Hay Springs will face Edgemont in the third-place game at 3:15 p.m.

Leave a Comment