Chadrad Communications Candidates Forum Tonight In Chadron


      Chadrad Communications is again hosting a Candidates Forum for the May 10th Primary Election.

      It’s tonight at 6:00 in the Chadron City Council Chambers and will be televised on Great Plains Cable Channel 19 and streamed on YouTube. It will also be archived at

     Invited to take part tonight are the candidates for the 3 contested local primaries: Dawes County Commissioner District 2, Crawford City Council, and Chadron City Council. 

      Up first will be the candidates for 2 Crawford council seats, now at-large for the first time after voters approved ending the old district system.

     Incumbents Ed Kuhnel and Ronnie Thompson are challenged by Ernie DeGunia Jr, Shane Norman, and April Grant. The top 4 vote-getters will advance from the primary with one candidate eliminated.

       Up next will be 2-term incumbent county commissioner Vic Rivera and his opponent, Travis Nitsch. No Democrat has filed for the seat. 

      Wrapping up the evening will be the Chadron City Council, with a trio of 4-year terms available. 8 individuals filed for the race, but Melody Stacy-Sandona has since dropped out, citing the time constraints of the job.

     Stacy-Sadona’s name will remain on the ballot along with incumbents Mark Werner and Cheryl Welch as well as challengers Jason Dye, Mark Graves, Shane Shepherd, George Klein, and Teddy Hamar. The top 6 advance to the general election.