CSC Honors Top Second-Year Students with Rising Sophomore Awards


Dafney Bishop

     For the seventh year, Chadron State College has recognized some of the school’s top second-year students with the Rising Sophomore Award.

     Each academic department selected Rising Sophomores in various programs who’ve proven to be outstanding students while 16 other students were recognized in campus-wide categories. 

       Faculty and staff nominated students for the majority of the awards, but nominations for the Excellence in the Advancement of Social Justice and Student Peer-Leader of the Year Awards came from other students.

       Ella O’Brien received the Peer-Leader Award with the Social Justice Award going to Jamal Browder.

     All the awards were presented at a ceremony last Tuesday attended by CSC students, faculty, and staff. The featured speaker was Chadron State Assistant Professor of Business Daphne Bishop.

Department Awards, Outstanding Student


Carina McNay, Art Studio


Elizabeth Tidball, Accounting Option

Kaci Wickersham, Agribusiness

Blaine Johnson, Business Management

Elle Ravenscroft, General Business Option

Vivian Pease, Accounting CPA Option

Rylan Aguallo, Finance Option

Hannah Martian, Marketing Option

Criminal Justice/Legal Studies

Patrick Blake – Justice Studies: Criminal Justice

Megan Hodgson – Justice Studies: Legal Studies


Emmali Taylor, Special Education

Joslyn Strohschein, Elementary Education

Livia Elle Castellanous, Middle Level Education


Destiny Rundquist, English Studies with Creative Writing

Hadley Markowski, English Language Arts 7-12

Family and Consumer Sciences

Alyssa Springer, 6-12 Family Consumer Science Education

Health and Physical Education

Teegan Love, Physical Education PK-12

Devyn Thornton, Sports and Recreation Management – Athletic Training


Myles Jensen, Social Science Education

Julie Skavdahl, History


Lauren Zimmerman, Mathematics Education


Alyssa “Rayne” Charging Thunder, Music Industry

Karley Patterson, Music PK-12

Political Science

Ruhama Molla

Psychological Sciences

Katrina Christensen 


Makennen Havlat, Rangeland Management


Chance Cooper, Physical Science with Chemistry Option for Pre-Dentistry

Bailey Scherbarth, Physical Science with Chemistry Option for Pre-Medicine

Brianna Smith, Physical Science with Chemistry Option for Pre-Veterinary Medicine

Paige Boitz, Physical Science with Chemistry Option for Pre-Pharmacy

Jadyn Hamann, Pre-Nursing

Tessa Hilker, Radiology

Sarah Wallace, Radiology

Cobie Bila, Pre-Physician Assistant

Colton Rosane, General Biology

Katelyn Diehl, Biological Resources

Kirby Corfield, Secondary Education

Jersie Misegadis, Occupational Therapy

Alyssa Myers, Pre-Physical Therapy

Alec Langan, Pre-Pharmacy

Social Work

Emily Beye


Trista Topil, Performance/Direction Option

Isabella Ashley, Design/Tech Option 

Student Peer-Leader of the Year: Ella O’Brien

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who has been an effective peer-leader. Peer-leaders play a variety of roles including mentor, teacher, friend, and cheerleader.

Resident Hall Citizen of the Year Award: Byron “BJ” Kynard

This award seeks to recognize one rising sophomore from the resident halls for outstanding service to her or his floor.

Working Eagle Award: Asia Graham

The Working Eagle Award recognizes a rising sophomore who has effectively balanced academics with his or her on-campus or off-campus job.

Unsung Hero Award: Logan Parde

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who works behind-the-scenes consistently going above and beyond the call of duty.

Community Engagement: Emily Beye

This award recognizes the efforts of a rising sophomore who is living out a vision of connections between campus and community through service and giving.

Student Leader of the Year: Saxon Wright

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who has a zest for life and learning, a strong commitment to CSC and the community and a demonstrated belief in the goodness of all people.

Diversity in Thought and Experience: Rachel Bell

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who is a strong and active advocate for diverse communities and challenges and supports students to engage beyond that which is comfortable.

Excellence in The Advancement of Social Justice Award: Jamal Browder

This award recognizes a rising sophomore whose single action or repeated behaviors has moved the college forward in its commitment to building an inclusive and just community.

Academic Grit Award: Katrina Christensen

The Academic Grit Award recognizes a rising sophomore who has made significant steps in his or her academic development. This award recipient will demonstrate noticeable growth in the areas of academic achievement and will have utilized campus resources.

First Generation Eagle Award: Sheila Renteria Salgado

The First-Generation Eagle Award recognizes a rising sophomore who would be the first in his or her family to attain a 4-year degree when he or she graduates. This award recipient will have successfully navigated the academic, financial, and social aspects of college life.

Artist of the Year: Alyssa “Rayne” Charging Thunder

This award recognizes musical, theatrical, writing, or artistic creativity of a rising sophomore at CSC who has made an outstanding contribution to the musical, theater or artistic life of the college through demonstration, performance, composition, and/or group leadership.

Student Athlete of the Year Award: Aliyah Rothstein

This award recognizes a CSC rising sophomore whose work and service on or off the athletic field or gym represents excellence in academics and service. The recipient of the award is a strong and active advocate for student athleticism.

Overall Determination Award: Katrina Christensen

This award recognizes a rising sophomore who has taken the opportunities that have been presented to them and turns them into action.

Student Leadership Award: Megan Hodgson

This award recognizes the efforts of a rising sophomore who has demonstrated excellence in serving as a voice for the student body, campus efforts, and leadership and participation across campus. 

James H. Powell Jr. Academic Achievement Award: Isabelle Lucius

The James H. Powell Jr. Academic Achievement Award recognizes a rising sophomore who participated in the Transitional Studies Program and has demonstrated excellence within the Transitional Studies courses, programming, and resources to achieve his or her academic goals. This award comes with a $500 scholarship.

The Young Eagle Award: Molly Langhorst

This award is given to the rising sophomore who has made significant accomplishments as an identified leader on campus during the current academic year. For the purposes of this award, leadership is measured by affecting positive change on campus. Specifically, nominees will be given high consideration for having a positive impact on the Chadron State College community.