Filing Deadline Passes; 3 Contested Races In Primary, 4 In General Election In Dawes County – UPDATE


     The filing deadline for Nebraska’s May primary election has passed, adding a handful of candidates over the final 2 days for races in Dawes County.

      The Chadron City Council, with 3 seats up, drew a rush of 3 candidates Tuesday afternoon and 2 on Monday – resulting in a final field of 8 and a contested primary with the top 6 vote-getters advancing to the general election.

Filing on Tuesday were Jason Dye, Mark Graves, and Shane Shepherd while the Monday filings were from Melody Stacy-Sandona and former councilman George Klein. Teddy Hamar had filed last week to join incumbents Mark Werner and Cheryl Welch on the ballot.

     There will be a primary for Crawford City Council, where 2 seats are open and all seats are at-large, just as in Chadron. 

     Incumbents Ed Kuhnel and Ronnie Thompson now also have Ernie DeGunia Jr, Shane Norman, and April Grant. The top 4 vote-getters will advance from the primary with one candidate eliminated.

      The Crawford School Board will have a contested November election but not a primary with 4 candidates for 3 seats: Erin Norman and Christine Kuhnel Swanson late additions to incumbents Joe Vogel and J-R Wsserburger.

      The Chadron School board has the same situation with 6 candidates for 3 seats and all advancing – incumbents Tom Menke, Tye Pourier, and Sandy Montague-Roes along with challengers Courtney Terrell, Colby McCoy, and Kevin Oleksy.

     Crawford Mayor Connie Shell remains unopposed as do all the incumbent Dawes County elected officials with the exception of County Commissioner District 2 Vic Rivera. He faces Travis Nitsch in the Republican primary. 

      No Democrats have filed for any partisan position in Dawes County