Five Huskers Honored By The Big Ten


Photo Courtesy/Scott Bruhn/NU Communications

Freshman Katelyn Caneda led five Huskers who were honored on Wednesday, when the conference announced its postseason awards.

Caneda (second base) earned First Team All-Big Ten, All-Defensive and All-Freshman honors, the only player in the conference to receive a spot on all three teams.

Billie Andrews (shortstop) and Brooke Andrews (outfield) joined Caneda, each earning a spot on the First Team All-Big Ten team. This marks the first All-Big Ten honor for Brooke Andrews while Billie Andrews earned all-conference accolades for the third straight season. Billie and Brooke Andrews are the third set of sisters in the Big Ten to receive First Team All-Big Ten honors in the same year and the second from Nebraska. Tatum and Taylor Edwards were both named all-conference first team in 2013 and 2014 while Michigan’s sisters Kari and Karla Kunnen both earned first team honors in 1993.

Mya Felder (first base) joined Caneda on the All-Defensive team. This marked Felder’s second consecutive year being named to the All-Defensive team. Nebraska was the only Big Ten team to place two players on the All-Defensive team.

Abbey Newlun rounded out Nebraska’s honorees, as she was announced as the Huskers’ Big Ten Sportsmanship recipient.

Indiana’s Teryn Kern led the conference honorees, earning Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year accoldes. Minnesota’s Autumn Pease received Pitcher of the Year accolades while Northwestern’s Kate Rohan took home Coach of the Year honors.

After receiving a bye with a fourth-place regular-season finish, the Huskers are set to play in the quarterfinals of the Big Ten Tournament on Thursday, May 11, at 7 p.m. (CT) against the winner of Wednesday’s game between Illinois and Wisconsin. The game will be broadcasted live on the Big Ten Network and fans can listen to the action live on the Huskers Radio Network, and select Huskers Radio Network affiliates with the call from Nate Rohr.

2023 Big Ten Softball All-Conference Teams and Individual Awards
Player of the Year: Taryn Kern, Fr., 2B, Indiana
Pitcher of the Year: Autumn Pease, 5th-Yr., RHP, Minnesota
Freshman of the Year: TARYN KERN, 2B, Indiana
Coach of the Year: Kate Drohan, Northwestern

First Team All-Big Ten
TARYN KERN, Fr., 2B, Indiana
Taylor Minnick, So., DP, Indiana
Nia Carter, Sr., OF, Iowa
Lexie Blair, Grad., OF, Michigan
Kayla Chavez, So., 3B, Minnesota
Taylor Krapf, So., C, Minnesota
Jess Oakland, Fr., SS, Minnesota
AUTUMN PEASE, 5th-Yr., RHP, Minnesota
Billie Andrews, Jr., SS, Nebraska
Brooke Andrews, Jr., OF, Nebraska
Katelyn Caneda, Fr., 2B, Nebraska
Nikki Cuchran, Grad., 1B, Northwestern
Danielle Williams, Grad., LHP, Northwestern
Kami Kortokrax, So., SS, Ohio State
Melina Wilkison, So., OF, Ohio State
Emily Maddock, Jr., 3B, Penn State
Katie Keller, Grad., 1B, Wisconsin
Maddie Schwartz, Grad., RHP, Wisconsin

Second Team All-Big Ten*
Kailee Powell, 5th-Yr., 1B, Illinois
Kelly Ryono, Sr., OF, Illinois
Cora Bassett, RS-Jr., OF, Indiana
Avery Parker, Fr., OF, Indiana
Sarah Stone, So., 1B, Indiana
Mackense Greico, 5th-Yr., 1B, Maryland
Courtney Wyche, Sr., RHP, Maryland
Jaeda McFarland, Jr., OF, Maryland
Lauren Derkowski, So., RHP, Michigan
Indiana Langford, Fr., 2B, Michigan
Natalie DenHartog, Grad., OF, Minnesota
Hannah Cady, Jr., 3B, Northwestern
Jordyn Rudd, Grad., C, Northwestern
Skylar Shellmyer, Grad., OF, Northwestern
Sam Hackenbracht, Sr., DP, Ohio State
Lexie Black, Sr., 1B, Penn State
Bailey Parshall, 5th-Yr., LHP, Penn State
Payton Lincavage, Sr., 3B, Rutgers
Kyleigh Sand, Jr., SS, Rutgers
Morgan Smith, Jr., OF, Rutgers
*additional players due to ties in voting.

All-Freshman Team
TARYN KERN, 2B, Indiana
Cassidy Kettleman, OF, Indiana
Avery Parker, OF, Indiana
Jalen Adams, RHP, Iowa
Indiana Langford, 2B, Michigan
Mandy Esman, 2B, Michigan State
Jess Oakland, SS, Minnesota
Katelyn Caneda, 2B, Nebraska
Kelsey Nader, OF, Northwestern
Kansas Robinson, 2B, Northwestern
Ryann Orange, DP, Rutgers

All-Defensive Team
P: Trinity Schlotterbeck, Sr., Maryland
C: Jordyn Rudd, Grad., Northwestern
1B: Mya Felder, Sr., Nebraska
2B: Katelyn Caneda, Fr., Nebraska
SS: Kami Kortokrax, So., Ohio State
3B: Delaney Rummell, Sr., Illinois
OF: Jaeda McFarland, Jr., Maryland
OF: Lexie Blair, Grad., Michigan
OF: Morgan Smith, Jr., Rutgers
ALL CAPS indicates unanimous selections.

Sportsmanship Award Honorees: Miranda Gallardo, Sr., Illinois; Brianna Copeland, So., Indiana; Nia Carter, Sr., Iowa; Taylor Liguori, Sr., Maryland; Keke Tholl, Jr., Michigan; Anna Fox, Sr., Michigan State; Nani Valencia, So., Minnesota; Abbey Newlun, Jr., Nebraska; Kendall Peterson, Sr., Northwestern; Meggie Otte, Sr., Ohio State; Morgan Farrah, 5th-Yr., Penn State; Emilee Cox, Sr., Purdue; Kiersten Withstandley, Sr., Rutgers; Kate Linkletter, So., Wisconsin.