Fort Collins Man Overall Peabody Hale Champion


     Cody Stadelmaier of Fort Collins, CO, was the overall winner at the 59h Annual Peabody Hale Fiddle Contest last Saturday at the Crawford City Park. 

    Stadelmaier topped the Adult Fiddle Division for those 19-59, then defeated the other fiddle division winners for the title.

     Pee Wee honors for those 12 and under went to Charlie Carnine of Angora, Callie Robbins of Alliance won the 13-18 year old Junior Division, and the Senior Division winner was Joe Cross of Arthur

      This year’s vocal champion was Mark Buckingham of Norfolk while mandolin player Deborah Horst of Crawford won the Miscellaneous Division

    The Peabody Hall Festival drew 25 contestants from Nebraska, Wyoming, and South Dakota ranging in age from 7 to 86

   Contest spokesman Marietta Moffatt says this was the second year of an open gate with a freewill donation and that the audience was great with its donations.

       Moffatt says a lot of thanks for the go out to Renae and Jack Jones of the Boots and Saddles Band, who provided entertainment and acted as MC for the day, and to those who donated the trophies.

        The family of Dora and contest founder and namesake Ellis “Peabody” Hale gave the trophies for the 3 fiddle winners, Betty Moffat donated the Vocal and Miscellaneous trophies, and the Horseshoe trophies came from Frank Richardson.


Vocal Contest

1st Place – Mark Buckingham—Norfolk, NE

2nd Place – Casey Whiteman – Casper, WY

3rd Place – Pete Butler—Crawford, NE

Pee Wee Fiddle Division (12 and under)

1st Place – Charlie Carnine  — Angora, NE

2nd Place – Sylvie Carnine – Angora, NE

Junior Fiddle Division (13-18)

1st – Callie Robbins – Alliance, NE

2nd – Dorothy Doharsh – Agora, NE

3rd – Lillian Hudnall – Columbus, NE

Adult  Fiddle Division (19-59)

1st – Cody Stadelmaier – Fort Collins, CO

2nd – Casey Whiteman – Casper, WY

3rd – Amy Bloyd – Casper, WY

Senior Fiddle Division (60+)

1st – Joe Cross – Arthur, NE

2nd – Ann Robinson – Casper, Wy

3rd – Vern Billingsly –Mitchell, NE

Miscellaneous Division

1st – Deborah Horst (Mandolin) – Crawford, NE

2nd – Grant Robbins (Guitar) – Alliance, NE

3rd – Casey Whiteman  (Guitar) – Casper, WY

Overall Winner – Cody Stadelmaier – Fort Collins, CO.

Horseshoe Tournament Winners (organized and set up by Sid Dubs of Alliance, NE who has been working with the horseshoe tournament for 30 years)

1st Place – Steve Folcher and Roger Goffena

2nd – Anthony Tollman and Josh Adamson

3rd – Sid Dubs and Carl Baehler

4th – LeRoy Adamson and John Nelson

5th – Guy Fish and Carolyn Fish