Local Weather Alerts
There are currently no active weather alerts.

Hawks, Rams Win Titles

The Hay Springs Lady Hawks remain undefeated after taking down Morrill and winning the Harrison Holiday Tournament Tuesday, and the Crawford boys upset Morrill to earn their own tournament title.

Hay Springs held off the Lions 50-46 in the championship match. The Hawks built a sizeable lead early in the game, but Morrill mounted a comeback that fell just short. Hay Springs led 19-6 after the first quarter and maintained the margin to take a 33-20 lead into the third quarter. The Hawks used a 10-5 run to extend their lead 43-25 before a late challenge by Morrill. The Lions sank 21 points in the final eight minutes, while holding Hay Springs to just seven. The effort was enough to erase most of the deficit but fell short of victory.

The Hawks had three players in double digits: Samantha Toof with 17, Gabby Twarling with 11 and Julia Russell with 10. Hay Springs stole the ball 20 times and blocked six shots by the Lions. Morrill won the rebounding game 38-33.

Crawford defeated Morrill in a low-scoring 34-28 affair to close out the tournament. Quarter scores and stats are not available.

Hay Springs and Crawford earned the third-place honors in the consolation bracket.

After a close opening period, Hay Springs pulled away from Sioux County on the boys’ side of the bracket and rolled to a 60-23 victory. The Hawks were ahead 8-4 in the first quarter but turned up the pressure and scored in double digits the rest of the game. Hay Springs led 28-11 at halftime and 45-17 after the third quarter. Two Hawks were in double digits: Dylan Young had 23 points, and Gage Mintken chipped in 14. William Skavdahl led Sioux County with eight, four of which came from the charity stripe.

The Crawford Lady Rams improved to 3-4 with an easy win over Banner County. The Rams led 30-5 at half-time on their way to a 48-13 victory to take third place at the tournament. Stats are not available.

Leave a Comment