Incumbent Filing Deadline Is Here


      Today is the deadline for current Nebraska incumbents to file for any office in this year’s elections with non-incumbents having 2 more weeks to file. 

      In Dawes County, 6 incumbents aren’t running, including District 2 County Commissioner Webb Johnson and Chadron City Council members Joe Johndreau and Miles Bannan.

      Chadron School Board member Maddie Nitsch and Crawford School Board members JoElla Norman and Alicia Robertson have also said they’re not running.

      The third Crawford school board incumbent, Don Edelman, says he intends to file, but had not done so as of yesterday. Dawes County Public Defender Becca Chasek has not publicly indicated whether she’s running or not.

     Incumbents who have already filed are Chadron School board members Boone Huffman and Melissa Webster and the 2 Crawford City Council incumbents up this year, Amanda Lager and Christopher Dean.

    The only non-incumbents to file so far in Dawes County are all running for county commissioner. Dave Redden and Walt Juhlin both filed as Republicans and will meet in the primary. Tony Johnson advances to November as a Libertarian.