Last-Day Filings Mean Contested Primary For Chadron City Council


     A last-day flurry of filings resulted in 4 more candidates for two seats on the Chadron City Council and a contested primary in May.

    Kevin Oleksy filed Thursday, the day before the deadline, while Bat Pourier, Jessy Roberts, Thomas Rutledge, and Clay Andersen all filed Friday.  

         Five candidates mean one will be eliminated in the primary with the other 4 advancing on to the general election in November.

      The only other contested primary is for Dawes County Commissioner District 3, where appointee Webb Johnson chose not to run.  

       Squaring off in the GOP primary will be Dave Redden and Walt Juhlin with the winner to be joined on the November ballot by Tony Johnson, who filed as a Libertarian.

      The Crawford School drew only 1 candidate for 3 seats: incumbent Don Edelman. There are full slates but no primary for the Crawford City Council and Chadron School boards with all the candidates advancing to November. 

       Vying for 2 seats on the Crawford Council are Robert Tovamassian and incumbents Amanda Lager and Christopher Dean while the Chadron School board candidates are Colleen Margetts and incumbents Boone Huffman and Melissa Webster.

      In the 2022 election, only 2 incumbents in Dawes County chose not to run again; this year, 6 made that decision.

      Two people have filed to succeed term-limited 43rd District State Senator Tom Brewer – Tanya Storer of Whitman and Tony Tangwall of Whitney. The 43rd District covers 11 counties including Dawes and Sheridan Counties.

       There are also 2 candidates for term-limited District 47 Senator Steve Erdman of Bayard – Larry Bollinger of Alliance and Paul Strommen of Sidney. The 47th District stretches from Ogallala to Harrison with Box Butte and Sioux among its 9 counties.