Nebraska Broadcasters Association Foundation Awards Scholarships


    The Nebraska Broadcasters Association Foundation has awarded $15,000 in scholarships to 3 students currently attending Nebraska universities with plans to work in broadcasting after graduation. 

     Two of the recipients are attending UNL and pursuing dual majors in Broadcasting and Sports Media & Communication: junior Skylee Nelson and senior Kylee Sodomka. 

     Traeton Harimon is a  junior at Nebraska-Kearney with a major in Sports Communication,

      Current NBA Board Chairman and our boss Dennis Brown says it’s important for the Nebraska Broadcasters Association Foundation to encourage students and future broadcasters across the state by the awarding of these scholarships. 

Dennis says the Broadcasters Association and its Foundation both wish Harimon, Nelson, and Sodomka well as they continue preparing to enter the exciting and rewarding career path in radio and television.Β 

      The Foundation offers scholarships to assist students enrolled in educational programs in radio and/or television broadcasting or broadcast journalism educational programs at designated Nebraska colleges, universities or technical colleges. 

    A panel of NBA board members reviews each application. Three different types of scholarships are given: the $5,000 Marty Riemenschneider Scholarship, the $3,500 Dick Palmquist Scholarship and the $2,500.00 NBA Foundation Scholarship. 

     More than $325,000 in college scholarships have been awarded by the Nebraska Broadcasters Association and its Foundation since 1977.