Three State Champions Crowned, Three More To Go In Lincoln


Day one of the Nebraska high school state football championships crowned three champions all in different fashion.

Hitchcock County snapped Howells-Dodge’s 25 game winning streak and won their first ever D2 title in 22-12 defensive battle.

Class D1 was a comeback as Clarkson/Leigh scored 40 unanswered against Neligh-Oakdale to win their first ever championship 48-20.

The nightcap in Class A was by far the best.  After Oklahoma State QB commit Zane Flores led Gretna down the field to take a 41-40 lead with 1:55 left in the game, Omaha Westside kicker Tristan Alvano came up clutch with his 5th made field goal of the night, a 45-yarder, to give the Warriors the crown 43-41.

Three more games dot the schedule today starting with an all-Mid States Conference final in C2 where Norfolk Catholic faces Hartington Cedar Catholic at 9:45 am.

This afternoon in C1 is Aurora and Pierce at 1:45 pm.  Tonight it’ll be a battle of unbeatens between Bennington and Omaha Roncalli at 6:15.