Treasurer Briese Announces ‘Why I Want to Go to College’ Winners


Today, Nebraska Treasurer Tom Briese announced the winners in the 2024 “Why I Want to Go to College” contest, sponsored jointly by the Nebraska State Treasurer’s Office and the Omaha Storm Chasers.

The winners will be recognized before the beginning of the April 28th Omaha Storm Chasers game at Werner Park in Papillion.

“I’m looking forward to meeting with these talented students and celebrating their commitment to their education and their future,” said Treasurer Briese, Trustee of NEST. “I can’t think of a better way to celebrate young students than a day at the ballpark.”

Briese also thanked the parents, instructors, and educators who encouraged students to submit essays. “This is such a great celebration of students, their families, and the educators who encourage the participation in activities such as these. Enthusiasm for higher education is contagious. The efforts by educators and parents do not go unnoticed, so a big ‘thank you’ to everyone who encourages a young student to think about the future.”

Winners receive contributions to NEST 529 college savings plans, ranging in value from $2,000 for first place, $1,000 for second place, and $500 for third place.

Three winners were chosen in each of Nebraska’s three U.S. congressional districts. Three winners from outside Nebraska were also chosen.

Students were asked to reflect in their written entries on the value of education and what they hope to achieve through higher education. Winners of the 2024 contest and their hometowns are listed below:

1st Congressional District – Nebraska
First:                Aiden Jurgensen, Clarkson
Second:           Emily Ballou, La Vista
Third:              Knox Petersen, Lincoln

2nd Congressional District – Nebraska
First:                Javian Erving, Omaha
Second:           Isaac Davidson, Omaha
Third:              Olivia Dabbert, Omaha

3rd Congressional District – Nebraska
First:                Lila Brennemann, Hyannis
Second:           Kylee Osmotherly, Crawford
Third:              Kaylin Kliewer, Lawrence

Out of State
First:                Brielle Feller, Olathe, KS
Second:           Ariabella Dimino, Waynesboro, PA
Third:              Daniel Dragovich, Lombard, IL