Biden Grants Disaster Declaration For Nebraska, Iowa For Dec 15 Tornadoes And Thunderstorms


      President Joe Biden has approved requests for a federal disaster declaration for Nebraska and Iowa in response to thunderstorms and tornadoes that hit both states in mid-December.

       The declaration covers 25 counties in each state, from south-central to east-central in Nebraska. The designation provides access to federal funding for those areas for emergency work and to repair or replace damaged facilities.

      At least 45 tornadoes were confirmed in the Dec. 15 storms that crossed the Great Plains and Midwest amid unseasonably warm temperatures. Nebraska, Iowa and Minnesota took the brunt of the damage.