Chadron State Punter Duane Fritz On The College Football Hall Of Fame Ballot


    Chadron State punter Duane Fritz, Wyoming WR Ryan Yarborough, and Kearney State coach Allen Zikmund have made this year’s ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

The winners will be announced in January and inducted in Dec 2025. 

   Fritz was 1st-Team NAIA All-American in 1975 when he led NAIA Division II in punting, averaging 42.3 yards on 65 punts.

He holds the CSC record for best punting average in a game at 49.7 yards on 9 punts against Wayne State in 1975, but also started at tight end for the Eagles for 3 years, catching 42 passes for 498 yards.

      Zikmund coached the Lopers from 1955-71 with a record of 121-31-3. His teams won 11 conference titles and he is in the NAIA Hall of Fame 

     Yarborough was Wyoming’s first 2-time All-American and the national career leader in receiving yards, 200-yard games, and games with a TD catch when he finished in 1993 

     The Hall of Fame ballot has 77 former FBS players and 101 from all other college divisions. There are also 43 coach – 9 from FBS including Nick Saban and Urban Meyer

    Chadron State’s Danny Woodhead was elected to the Hall of Fame earlier this year and will be inducted this December. Former Husker and Ohio head coach Frank Solich is also part of the Class of 2024