Danny Woodhead, Frank Solich On College Football Hall Of Fame Ballot


       Chadron State running back Danny Woodhead, Nebraska and Ohio head coach Frank Solich, and NAIA Hall of Fame Coach Allen Zikmund of Kearney State are on the 2024 ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

      The HOF ballot from the National Football Foundation has 78 players and 9 coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision, still called D-1 by many, and 101 players and 9 coaches 

     More than 12,000 Foundation members and current Hall of Famers will vote with the Hall’s Honors Court making the final sections. The Honors Court is an elite and geographically-diverse pool of athletic administrators, Hall of Famers, and media members.

    Danny Woodhead was a 2-time winner of the Harlon Hill Trophy as the top player in NCAA Division II and was named to the DII 40th Anniversary Team.

He ended his career as the all-time leading rusher in all levels of college football at just under 8,000 yards and still holds nearly every DII record for career and season rushing and all-purpose yards.

    A North Platte High School graduate, Woodhead was a 3-time Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year and led Chadron State to back-to-back RMAC titles and DII playoff appearances.

       Frank Solich was head coach of Nebraska from 1998-2003, then led Ohio for 15-years, where he became the all-time winningest coach for both Ohio and the Mid-America Conference.

   Solich was a 2-time Big 12 Coach of the Year as the Huskers won 3 North Division titles and 1 league championship. They also played in the 2001 BCS championship game. 

     At Ohio, he set school records with 12 consecutive non-losing seasons and the school’s first 11 bowl appearances.

   Allen Zikmund won 11 conference titles at Kearney State, now Nebraska-Kearney, in 17 years from 1955-1971.

3 thoughts on “Danny Woodhead, Frank Solich On College Football Hall Of Fame Ballot”

Comments are closed.