Dawes County Democratic Convention Elects New Officers and Delegates


The Dawes County Democratic Party convened on Sunday, May 19, 2024, for its annual county convention at Country Kitchen in Chadron. The meeting, which began at 1:00 PM, saw the election of new officers and delegates for the upcoming Nebraska State Democratic Convention.

Lisa Cook was elected as the new Chairperson of the Dawes County Democratic Party. Celeste Lee and Chris Vines were elected as Vice Chair #1 and Vice Chair #2, respectively. Cheryl Welch will serve as Treasurer, and Kevin Oleksy was elected as Secretary. Jessy Roberts will take on the new role of Communications Officer.

In addition to the election of officers, county delegates were chosen to represent Dawes County at the Nebraska State Democratic Convention, which will be held in Hastings, Nebraska, from June 9-11. Jessy Roberts was elected as a delegate, and Alva Roberts was elected as an alternate delegate.

The Dawes County Democratic Party looks forward to active participation in the state convention and is committed to continuing its efforts to promote Democratic values and candidates within the county and across Nebraska.

For more information, please contact:
Jessy Roberts
Communications Officer, Dawes County Democratic Party