Eleven CSC Wrestlers Earn NWCA Scholar Athlete All-America

Six Chadron State College men’s wrestlers, and five from the women’s team, were named NWCA Scholar All-America recipients, when the coaches’ association released its annual academic awards this week.

Student-athletes may make the NWCA Scholar All-American Team by keeping a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale, with a minimum of 3.25 for those who qualified for the national championships and 3.0 for those who earned All-American status for the 2022 season. The athlete must also have competed in a minimum of four dates of competition.

CSC’s men receiving the honor are freshman Chance Bockenstedt (Polk, Iowa), senior Stone Durham (Rapid City, S.D.), junior Harrison Gocke (York, Neb.), junior Ethan Leake (Clovis, Calif.), sophomore Dean Neff (Jefferson, Wis.), and junior Gavin Peitzmeier (Omaha).

The recipients on the women’s team are junior Kinsey Smith (Windsor, Colo.), freshman Ryleigh Dye (Queen Creek, Ariz.), freshman Karstin Hollen (Mesa, Ariz.), junior Jeslyn Jindra (Box Elder, S.D.), and sophomore Kamila Montenegro (Las Vegas).

The academic team championships went to Drury University on the men’s side, and Colorado Mesa University’s women.