Moni Hourt Honored With History Nebraska Award


Photo by Neenah Ellis

      Long-time Northern Panhandle teacher, historian, reporter, and photographer Moni Hourt has been recognized by History Nebraska, formerly the Nebraska State Historical Society, with its Advocacy Award.

      Hourt’s honor had been announced several weeks ago, but the presentation came Tuesday during a special Legislative event at the historic Kennard House in Lincoln.

    The Advocacy Award is presented annually for outstanding contributions or assistance by an individual or organization to History Nebraska through volunteerism, advocacy or donation.

    Hourt was a teacher for many years in Dawes and Sioux Counties, primarily in rural schools. She was largely responsible for beginning the tradition among students in the region of success in the Nebraska and National History Day competitions.

      As a researcher of Dawes and Sioux County history, she is a dependable source of accurate historical details of Northwest Nebraska for the Fort Robinson History Center. 

     She continues to bring children being home-schooled to Fort Robinson to instill in them a passion for Nebraska’s history.

     History Nebraska also presented 6 other awards on Tuesday, with the Susan La Flesche Picotte Center of Walthill sharing the Champion of History Award with Vickie Schaepler of Kearney.

      Rod Mullen of Omaha received the Excellence in History Award, Preston while Emily Leise of Hartington were chosen for the Nebraska State Historic Preservation Award. 

     The Asa T Hill Memorial Award recognizing outstanding research or interpretation of archaeological sites in Nebraska went to Rob Bozell of Omaha.

    The James L Sellers Award for the best article published in Nebraska History Magazine was presented to a pair of Pennsylvanians, Brent Ruswick and Celine Butler, who also share a $1,000 prize from the State Historical Society Foundation.