No Big Panhandle Redistricting Impacts, But Alliance Shifts From 43rd To 47th District


       The new redistricting maps approved by the Nebraska Legislature passed Thursday and signed by Governor Pete Ricketts make no major changes for the Panhandle.

     There are still 3 legislative districts that include the Panhandle. Senator Tom Brewer’s 43rd District changes the most as it shrinks from all or parts of 13 counties to all of 10 counties.

     The extreme eastern part of Box Butte County, including Alliance, moves into Senator Steve Erdman’s 47th District along with Grant County while Hooker, Thomas, McPherson, and Logan Counties all shift to the 42nd District.. 

    Brewer picks up Rock, Boyd and Custer Counties. Custer, whose county seat is Broken Bow, is now the most populous county in the 43rd District at 10,545 with Dawes #2 at 8,199 residents. 

      While the 42nd District gets Alliance, the other parts of Box Butte County not already in the districts, and Grant County, it loses Kimball and Banner to Senator John Stinner’s 48th District, which had been only Scotts Bluff County.