President Issues Disaster Declaration For SD Winter Storms


      President Joe Biden has issued a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 16 counties in South Dakota as a result of the severe winter storms that struck the state in December.

      The counties covered by the declaration include Oglala Lakota, Bennett, and Todd – which cover the Pine Ridge and Rosebud Reservations.

     The declaration requested 3 weeks ago by Gov Kristi Noem allows FEMA, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and other federal resources to help with the impacts of the storm to state, tribal, and local governments.

    The storms caused an estimated $2.4-million dollars in damage and costs that qualify for federal aid such as damage to power infrastructure and unexpected costs for snow removal. 

1 thought on “President Issues Disaster Declaration For SD Winter Storms”

Comments are closed.