Webb Johnson Selected To Fill Commissioners Vacancy


It took just six minutes on Monday morning for a specially-appointed committee to name Webb Johnson to fill the vacant Dawes County district three commissioner opening.

The three member committee featured Dawes County Clerk Cheryl Feist, County Treasurer Sam Wellnitz, and County Attorney Vance Haug.

The meeting opened with Feist offering condolences for the passing of former commissioner Levi Grant, saying that none of the committee members wanted to be in this position.

Wellnitz then listed the candidates who had reached out to him showing interest, including Marissa Betson, Doug Leeling, Walter Juhlin, Tony Johnson and Webb Johnson.

Following a reading of a letter of interest from Webb Johnson, the first motion was made by Dawes County Attorney Vance Haug and seconded by Wellnitz to approve Johnson for the position, to which all voted in the affirmative.

Johnson isn’t new to the Dawes County Commissioners, serving multiple terms prior to his retirement in 2020.

Feist talked about the process the committee took in making their selection.

Dawes County Clerk Cheryl Feist

Webb won’t get long to think about his appointment as commissioner as they are scheduled to meet on Tuesday morning.

2 thoughts on “Webb Johnson Selected To Fill Commissioners Vacancy”

Comments are closed.